2013 Biletnikoff Award Pre-season Watch List Released


Marqise Lee, USC, 2012 Biletnikoff Award Recipient

Marqise Lee, 2012 Biletnikoff Award winner as announced on ESPN’s 2012 The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, holds the Biletnikoff Trophy, the most beautiful in college sports.

Tallahassee, FL -The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, has released the 2013 Biletnikoff Award Pre-season Watch List. The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 200 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. According to TQC Foundation Chairman Ritchie Pickron, “Given the significant number of outstanding college receivers playing in the 2013 season, the race for the Biletnikoff Award is wide open.”

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 12, 2013, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:00 – 9:00pm on ESPN.

Chairman Pickron announced that the Biletnikoff Award winner will receive his trophy, the most beautiful in college sports, before 600 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 8, 2014. The banquet was hailed by 2013 keynote speaker Larry Csonka as “the best banquet in college sports.” Coaching great Dick Vermeil will deliver the 2014 banquet’s keynote address (following a tradition of distinguished keynoters like Bart Starr, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, and Dan Fouts) and recognize the Foundation’s fifteen scholarship recipients who will receive from the Foundation well over $750,000 in college scholarships. The Foundation’s charitable mission is to provide college scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels.

The banquet, considered the best in college sports, will be live streamed on ESPN3. ESPN3 is ESPN’s live multi-screen sports network, giving fans a destination that delivers thousands of live sports events annually, accessible online at, on smartphones and tablets via the WatchESPN app and through ESPN on Xbox LIVE to Gold members. It is available at no additional cost to fans who receive their high-speed internet connection or video connection from an affiliated service provider. ESPN3 is currently available in 83 million homes. It is also available at no cost to approximately 21 million U.S. college students and U.S.-based military personnel via computers connected to on-campus educational networks and on-base military networks.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 18, 2013, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 25, 2013. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the termreceiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994. Seventeen college receivers have won the award, including Marqise Lee, Randy Moss, Calvin Johnson, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald. Foundation Selection Committee Co-Chairman and Founding Trustee Walter Manley, II, noted, “The 2013 Biletnikoff Award Pre-season Watch List contains one of the most talented fields in the award’s history, consistent with the escalating importance of the passing game in college football.” Selection Committee Co-Chairman Mark Haney, who has helped comprise pre-season watch lists for over a decade, commented: “Receiver has become the glamour position in college offenses; the great athletes are gravitating to receiver which means the ranks of excellent college receivers continue to grow.”

2013 Biletnikoff Award Pre-season Watch List

(listed in alphabetical order)
Player School Year
Jared Abbrederis Wisconsin SR
Davante Adams Fresno State SO
Nelson Agholor USC SO
Alex Amidon Boston College SR
Odell Beckham, Jr. LSU JR
Kenny Bell Nebraska JR
Michael Bennett Georgia JR
Chris Boyd Vanderbilt JR
Corey Brown Ohio State SR
Aaron Burbridge Michigan State SO
Damiere Byrd South Carolina JR
Michael Campanaro Wake Forest SR
Brandon Carter TCU JR
Brandon Coleman Rutgers JR
Brandin Cooks Oregon State JR
Amari Cooper Alabama SO
Jamison Crowder Duke JR
DaVaris Daniels Notre Dame JR
Mike Davis Texas SR
Quinshad Davis North Carolina SO
Titus Davis Central Michigan JR
Stefon Diggs Maryland SO
Phillip Dorsett Miami JR
William Dukes FAU JR
Quinton Dunbar Florida JR
Bruce Ellington South Carolina JR
Mike Evans Texas A&M SO
Shaquelle Evans UCLA SR
Austin Franklin New Mexico State JR
Jeremy Gallon Michigan SR
Keyarris Garrett Tulsa JR
Ryan Grant Tulane SR
Rashad Greene FSU JR
Dorial Green-Beckham Missouri SO
Deontay Greenberry Houston SO
Noel Grigsby San Jose State SR
Je’Ron Hamm Louisiana-Monroe SR
Justin Hardy East Carolina JR
Chris Harper California SO
Robert Herron Wyoming SR
Cody Hoffman BYU SR
Josh Huff Oregon SR
T.J. Jones Notre Dame SR
Cody Latimer Indiana JR
Marqise Lee USC JR
Jordan Leslie UTEP JR
Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt SR
J.D. McKissic Arkansas State SO
Trey Metoyer Oklahoma SO
Matt Miller Boise State JR
Malcolm Mitchell Georgia JR
Donte Moncrief Ole Miss JR
Tracy Moore Oklahoma State SR
Alex Neutz Buffalo JR
Kevin Norwood Alabama SR
DeVante Parker Louisville JR
Charone Peake Clemson JR
Bernard Reedy Toledo SR
Tevin Reese Baylor SR
Paul Richardson Colorado JR
Allen Robinson Penn State JR
Shaq Roland South Carolina SO
Alonzo Russell Toledo SO
Jalen Saunders Oklahoma SR
Jaxon Shipley Texas JR
Tommy Shuler Marshall SO
Devin Smith Ohio State JR
Willie Snead Ball State JR
Josh Stewart Oklahoma State JR
Devin Street Pittsburgh JR
Eric Thomas Troy SR
Jordan Thompson West Virginia SO
Eric Ward Texas Tech SR
Sammy Watkins Clemson JR
Brandon Wimberly Nevada SR






The Biletnikoff Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 8:      Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tue., July 9:       Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Wed., July 10:    Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 11:  Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Fri., July 12:       Jim Thorpe Award

Mon., July 15:    Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Tue., July 16:     Biletnikoff Award

Wed., July 17:    Davey O’Brien Award

Thurs., July 18:  Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 19:       Walter Camp Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email