Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. Announces 2014 Scholarship Recipients and $850,000 in Scholarships & Benefits

Media Release – February 3, 2014

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award presented annually to college football’s outstanding receiver, has selected sixteen remarkably talented North Florida high school seniors of high character as Foundation Scholars.

The Foundation will provide $850,000 in scholarships and other benefits to these outstanding young men and women, who have overcome significant emotional, mental, physical, and environmental barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extracurricular levels.

These sixteen seniors will be recognized at the 20th annual Biletnikoff Award Banquet on Saturday, February 8, 2014, at the University Center Club at Tallahassee’s Doak Campbell Stadium before a sold-out audience of 550 patrons. ESPN3 will broadcast live the banquet which will also honor 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State University. Former college and pro coaching great Dick Vermeil, one of America’s outstanding speakers, will deliver the keynote address. The banquet, hailed by many as “the best in college sports,” will also witness the presentation of the Biletnikoff Award trophy, the most beautiful in college sports, to Brandin Cooks.

Foundation Chairman Ritchie Pickron commented, “These sixteen students will become important leaders in the Florida and America of the 21st century!”

Scholarship Committee Chairman Richard Bush remarked, “Foundation designations for scholarship awards are the most coveted in Florida, as the competition is fierce due to the large number of very high quality applicants and the fact that the requirements to be so designated are extraordinarily rigorous.”

“In fact, the overall quality of applicants has never been higher and the distinction of those ranked among the top 100 in the applicant pool is the most outstanding in our 20 years’ history. The quality of the scholars and our trustees’ drive to serve others is a powerful incentive for our highly successful fundraising,” said Fundraising Chairman and Founding Trustee Walter Manley II.

The sixteen honored scholars are:

  • Julia Filloon, Maclay-Tracey Biletnikoff Memorial Scholar  
  • Kamal Presley, Leon High School-Brooks Rogers Memorial Scholar  
  • “Wesley” Charles Moss, Wakulla High School-Foundation Trustees Scholar  
  • Jacari Harris, Lincoln High School  
  • Lindsey Shepard, Leon High School  
  • James Hand-DeMaria, SAIL  
  • Olivia Fletcher, Robert F. Munroe Day School  
  • Claudia Maldonado, Florida High  
  • Yu Liu, Godby High School  
  • Dana Alan Lutton II, Leon High School  
  • “Billy” William Brickner, Leon High School  
  • Dionte Boddie, Godby High School  
  • Kirk Douglas McGraw, Maclay  
  • Walter Kelleher, Robert F. Munroe Day School  
  • Emily Ostreich, Maclay  
  • Desuanda Ellis, East Gadsden High School

Scholar biographies will be posted to the website in the coming weeks at

Former great college and pro football coach Dick Vermeil will deliver the keynote address to a crowd of over 550 patrons and present the Biletnikoff Award trophy, the most beautiful trophy in college sports, to 2013 winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State University. The distinguished 220 member national selection committee tapped Cooks over Texas A & M’s Mike Evans and Clemson’s Sammy Watkins in the closest vote in the history of the award. Also on hand will be Oregon State coach Mike Riley.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email