Biletnikoff Award Adds 12 Players To Watch List, Fans Can Vote for Favorite Receiver at Fan Vote Beginning October 1

Media Release – September 16, 2014 

Tallahassee, FL – Demonstrating the exceptional depth of talent of the 2014 college football receivers’ corps, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. (TQC Foundation), the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, presented to college football’s outstanding receiver, added 12 receivers to its watch list today. Anyone who catches a pass, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, or running back) is eligible to win the Biletnikoff Award, founded in 1994.

The 12 receivers joining the 2014 Biletnikoff Award Watch List are:

KD Cannon,  Baylor
Travin Dural, LSU
DaeSean Hamilton,  Penn State
Geno Lewis,  Penn State
Roger Lewis, Bowling Green
Keevan Lucas,  Tulsa
Teldrick Morgan,  New Mexico State
Isiah Myers, Washington State
Demarcus Robinson, Florida
Sterling Shepard,  Oklahoma
Nelson Spruce,  Colorado
Kevin White, West Virginia

Today’s watch list additions are the first of this season, the prestigious award’s 21st. The Foundation, when appropriate, periodically will add receivers to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List (based upon performance) up to the commencement of voting by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, comprised of 222 distinguished college football journalists and commentators, as well as former winners and eminent receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote.

In other exciting news, the Biletnikoff Award will open on October 1 its online Fan Vote for the Biletnikoff Award candidates on the Biletnikoff Award website. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award Fan Vote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semi-finalists (ten receivers), finalists (three), and the winner. Last year, in the closest contest in years, the Fan Vote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for 2013 winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State.


The Foundation’s charitable mission is the provision of college and vocational scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels. The Foundation awarded $900,000 in scholarships in 2014 alone and expects to increase that amount in 2015.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 11, 2014, by college and pro football hall of famer Fred Biletnikoff on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:00 to 9:00 pm on ESPN.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will receive the Biletnikoff Award Trophy, the most beautiful in college sports, before 600 patrons at the annual black-tie Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 7, 2015. The banquet will be live streamed on ESPN3, as it was in 2013 and 2014.

The Biletnikoff Award banquet was hailed by 2013 keynote speaker Larry Csonka and 2014 keynoter Dick Vermeil as “the best banquet in college sports.”

Former Notre Dame and Washington Redskins quarterback Joe Theismann will deliver the 2015 banquet’s keynote address (following a tradition of outstanding keynoters including Bart Starr, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dick Vermeil, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, Jerry Kramer, Bill Curry, Gene Stallings, Ron Jaworski, and Dan Fouts) and recognize the Foundation’s 2015 scholarship recipients.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email