Biletnikoff Award Announces 10 Semifinalists

November 17, 2014

Tallahassee, FL – The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, announces the 10 Semifinalists for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award. The award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football, regardless of position (any player at any position who catches a pass is eligible). The electronic voting by the 265 distinguished members of the National Selection Committee was conducted from November 10th through November 16th.

Foundation Chairman Charles Hopkins commented: “The group of players who could win the Biletnikoff Award is vast as college football has hundreds of fine receivers at numerous positions, including wide receiver, tight end, running back, and slotback.  We congratulate all of our watch list receivers for their play and we commend the ten semifinalists for excellent seasons.”

Semifinalists for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award are: (listed in alphabetical order)

Nelson Agholor, University of Southern California, Jr.
Amari Cooper, University of Alabama, Jr.
Rashad Greene, Florida State University, Sr.
Rashard Higgins, Colorado State University, So.
Tyler Lockett, Kansas State University, Sr.
Vince Mayle, Washington State University, RSr.
Sterling Shepard, University of Oklahoma, Jr.
Nelson Spruce, University of Colorado, Jr.
Jaelen Strong, Arizona State University, Jr.
Kevin White, West Virginia University, Sr.

Fans may now help determine which three receivers will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at the  Biletnikoff Award Fan Vote website. Fan voting for the three semifinalists will close on November 23.

The top 3 aggregate fan votes for receiver will each count as the equivalent of one national selection committee vote for each of those three receivers for finalists. Following the finalists’ selection, the subsequent top single aggregate  fan vote for receiver will count as the equivalent of one national selection committee vote in selecting the winner.

The three Finalists will be announced on Monday, November 24th. The Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced live on ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 11, 2014.

Click here to access the Biletnikoff Award FAN VOTE


Also, the Biletnikoff Award has an online forum and discussion board on the Biletnikoff Award website. The forum consists of fan-created discussion topics that allow sports fans to voice their opinions.

Click here to access the Biletnikoff Award Forum Discussion Boards. (

Login and join or begin various discussions about sports, including who will win the 2014 Biletnikoff Award. It’s easy—create your screen name, receive a computer generated password, and immediately join in the discussions or create a new topic!

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 265 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. The fan vote counts as one additional vote.

The Foundation’s charitable mission is to provide college scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels. The Foundation awarded $900,000 in scholarships in 2014 alone and expects to increase that amount in 2015.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 11, 2014, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:00 to 9:00 pm on ESPN.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will receive the Biletnikoff Award Trophy, the most beautiful in college sports, and the custom designed Biletnikoff Award winner’s ring before 600 patrons at the annual Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 7, 2014, and will be live streamed on ESPN3, as it was in 2014.

The banquet was hailed by 2014 keynote speaker Dick Vermeil as “the best banquet in college sports.”

Former Notre Dame and Washington Redskins quarterback Joe Theismann will deliver the 2015 banquet’s keynote address (following a tradition of distinguished keynoters including Bart Starr, Dick Vermeil, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, Jerry Kramer, Bill Curry, Gene Stallings, Ron Jaworski, and Dan Fouts) and recognize the Foundation’s scholarship recipients.

For more information visit our website at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email