Jerry Jeudy of Alabama Wins the 2018 Biletnikoff Award Which Recognizes the College Football Season’s Outstanding Receiver Regardless of Position

For Immediate Release: December 6, 2018

Tallahassee, FL – The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, announces that Alabama’s Jerry Jeudy is the 2018 winner of the Biletnikoff Award. College and pro football hall of famer Fred Biletnikoff tonight presented Jerry Jeudy as the winner on The Home Depot College Football Awards presented by Gildan which was broadcast live by ESPN. The other outstanding finalists are Andy Isabella of the University of Massachusetts and Tylan Wallace of Oklahoma State University.

The secure and confidential electronic voting by the distinguished members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee was conducted from November 27th through December 2nd, and certified by a prominent CPA firm.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding FBS receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s outstanding receiver, not merely college football’s outstanding wide receiver.

Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee

The semifinalists, finalists, and award recipient are selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted. For a list of voters, please see

Candidate Eligibility and Voting Criteria

The transparently detailed and explicit criteria for candidate eligibility, watch list inclusion, and voting appear at:

The Home Depot College Football Awards Show

Jerry Jeudy as the 2018 Biletnikoff Award winner was announced live by college and pro football hall of famer Fred Biletnikoff earlier tonight, December 6, 2018, on The Home Depot College Football Awards presented by Gildan. The correlation between Biletnikoff Award winners and stardom in the National Football League is nearly uniformly consistent. Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, Amari Cooper, Larry Fitzgerald, and the late Terry Glenn.

Biletnikoff Award Banquet

Jerry Jeudy will be presented the Biletnikoff Award trophy by college and pro football hall of famer Fred Biletnikoff and keynoter & 1993 Lombardi Award and Jim Parker Award winner Aaron Taylor before 550 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 16, 2019. The banquet was hailed by 2014 keynote speaker Dick Vermeil, as well as by 2013 keynoter Larry Csonka, as “the best banquet in college sports.”

The banquet has featured distinguished keynoters of profound character and accomplishments including Bart Starr, Dick Vermeil, Floyd Little, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, Ron Jaworski, Gene Stallings, Bob Griese, Bill Curry, Bobby Bowden, Jim Kelly, Jerry Kramer, Joe Theismann, and Dan Fouts.

Biletnikoff Award Scholarship

The banquet also recognizes the Foundation’s scholarship recipients. The Foundation’s charitable mission is the provision of college and vocational scholarships and related assistance to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extracurricular levels. In 2018, fifteen high school seniors received scholarships.

Fred Biletnikoff

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was a consensus All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email