Joe Theismann – 2015 Biletnikoff Award Banquet Keynote Speaker

Joe Theismann will be the keynote speaker for the 2015 Biletnikoff Award banquet that is being held on February 7, 2015 in Tallahassee, Florida.

Joe Theismann is an entrepreneur and the former star quarterback for the Washington Redskins.
He spent the last two decades working for ESPN on their NFL broadcast and the NFL Network.

The former Washington Redskins quarterback joined ESPN in April 1988, reuniting with play-by-play voice, Mike Patrick.
Theismann joined ESPN after spending two seasons as an NFL analyst for CBS Sports.

A 12-year NFL veteran, Theismann played in 163 consecutive games from 1974-1985 and holds Redskins’ records for
passing yardage (25,206), completions (2.044) and attempts (3,602). A two-time Pro Bowl selection, Theismann led
Washington to a 27-17 victory over the Miami Dolphins in Super Bowl XVII.

Theismann was selected the NFL’s “Man of the Year” in 1982 for his community service and dedication to the health and
welfare of children. He won the league’s 1983 “Most Valuable Player” Award for leading the Redskins to an NFL-recorded
541 points and a second consecutive Super Bowl appearance. His career ended abruptly in 1985 after sustaining a broken
leg during a game against the New York Giants on national television.

Theismann graduated in 1971 from the University of Notre Dame where he received All-America honors and led the
Fighting Irish to consecutive Cotton Bowls and was runner-up to Jim Plunkett in the Heisman Trophy balloting. In 2003,
Theismann was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Theismann began his career in 1971 with the Toronto
Argonauts of the Canadian Football League, after being drafted by the Miami Dolphins and Major League Baseball’s
Minnesota Twins.

Theismann, a much sought after motivational speaker, also oversees a popular Washington, DC restaurant that bears his
name. He is also the author of The Complete Idiots Guide to Understanding Football Like a Pro.

Recently, Theismann was named the recipient of the 2013 Walter Camp Football Foundation “Distinguished American”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email