2006 Biletnikoff Award winner Calvin Johnson selected to appear on the cover of Madden NFL13

Media Release – May 2, 2012

Tallahassee, FL -The Board of Trustees of the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, sent its congratulations to 2006 Biletnikoff Award winner Calvin Johnson for being selected by national fan voting to appear on the cover of Madden NFL13, the dynamic interactive football game.

Johnson was selected from an original field of 64 NFL players; twenty million fans cast votes to select the NFL player who would appear on the Madden NFL 13 cover.

The Biletnikoff Award was created in 1994 to recognize college football’s outstanding receiver as chosen by a prominent national selection committee of 150 journalists, commentators, and former players.

Foundation Chairman Walter W. Manley II commented, “Obviously, Calvin is as popular with the nation as he was with our trustees and banquet patrons; we all salute him as an incredible receiver, as well, and wish him all the best.”

Besides sponsoring and presenting the Biletnikoff Award, the TQC Foundation also donates over $200,000 annually for scholarships awarded to high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers in life to achieve at the highest academic and extracurricular levels. Those students attend universities all over the country, including Harvard, Duke, Dartmouth, Florida, Georgia Tech, Florida State, and Florida A&M.

The 2012 Biletnikoff Award winner will be feted at the TQC Foundation’s Annual Banquet on February 9, 2013, at the University Center Club, located in the south end of Florida State University’s Doak Campbell Stadium.

NFL Hall of Fame Player Larry Csonka will be the banquet keynote speaker. Larry Csonka and Fred Biletnikoff will present the Biletnikoff Award trophy to the 2012 winner before 600 patrons.

The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the nation’s outstanding college football receiver, (the award defines receiver as any player who catches a pass), by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. (TQCF). The TQC Foundation is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994. Present Chairman and Founding Trustee, Professor Walter W. Manley II, Founding Trustee L. Thomas Cox, Jr., Founding Trustee Rocky Bevis, and Founding Trustee Bob Teel established the award and the TQC Foundation that sponsors it.  Many more have contributed to its development as one of the most prominent awards in college football. The idea of a college receiver’s award was not a novel one, as a number of organizations throughout America considered establishing it; however, the TQC Foundation joined the idea to the organization’s vision and created an outstanding award and dynamic organization. The trophy, presented to each winner, is the most beautiful individual award in college football – it has won several national awards for design excellence and aesthetic appeal.

The Biletnikoff Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email