Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. Announces the 2013 Scholarship Recipients

Media Release – January 18, 2013

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award presented annually to college football’s outstanding receiver, has selected sixteen remarkably talented high school seniors of high character as Foundation Scholars.

The Foundation will provide $640,000 in scholarships to these outstanding young men and women, who have overcome significant emotional, mental, physical, and environmental barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extracurricular levels.

Founding Trustee and Foundation Chairman Walter. W. Manley, II, commented, “These students will become important leaders in the Florida and America of the 21st century!”

Scholarship Committee Co-Chairmen Richard Bush and Dr. Chuck Newell remarked, “Foundation designations for scholarship awards are the most coveted in Florida, as the competition is fierce due to the large number of quality applicants and the fact that the requirements to be so designated are extraordinarily high.”

“In fact, the overall quality of applicants has never been higher and the distinction of those ranked among the top 50 in the applicant pool is the most outstanding in our 19 years history,” said Chairman Manley.

The sixteen honored scholars are:

Elizabeth Bailey, Leon High School, Tallahassee, The Tracy Biletnikoff Memorial Scholar

Joseph Briggs, Rickards High School, Tallahassee,The Brooks Rogers Memorial Scholar

Aileen Kadzis, John Paul II High School, Tallahassee,The Foundation Trustees Memorial Scholar

James Covington, Maclay School, Tallahassee
Esther Synthia Jean, Lincoln High School, Tallahassee
Evan Cole Gentry, North Florida Christian School, Tallahassee
Marcus Mascagni, Leon High School, Tallahassee
Dana McCalvin, School for the Arts, Tallahassee
Jasmyne Arnold, Lincoln High School, Tallahassee
Sudhanshu Rath, Rickards High School, Tallahassee
Savanna Harris, Wakulla High School, Crawfordville
Stephanie Stone, Godby High School, Tallahassee
Amion Carridine, Rickards High School, Tallahassee
Kaytron Coker, Godby High School, Tallahassee
Patricia Moes, John Paul II High School, Tallahassee
Rashid Elsamra, Godby High School, Tallahassee

Scholar biographies will be posted to the website in the coming weeks at

The Foundation will introduce the scholars at the 19th annual Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee, Florida, on Saturday, February 9, 2013. Pro football Hall of Famer Larry Csonka will deliver the keynote address to 550 patrons and present the Biletnikoff Award trophy, the most beautiful trophy in college sports, to 2012 winner Marqise Lee of the University of Southern California.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email