The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, the Creator and Sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, Recognizing the College Football Season’s Outstanding FBS Receiver Regardless of Position, Announces the 2019 Preseason Biletnikoff Award Watch List

For Immediate Release: July 18, 2019

Tallahassee, FL – The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, has released the 2019 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List. The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the season’s outstanding FBS receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s outstanding receiver, not merely college football’s outstanding wide receiver.

The award recipient is selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted. For a list of voters, please see
Receivers are frequently added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. Actual, not potential, performance is the basis for inclusion on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

The Biletnikoff Award candidate eligibility and voting criteria, transparently explicit and detailed, are available for review at

The 2019 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 12, 2019, at the College Football Hall of Fame on The Home Depot College Football Awards presented by Gildan to be broadcast 7:00 – 9:00pm (EST) on ESPN.

The correlation between Biletnikoff Award winners and stardom in the National Football League is nearly uniformly consistent. Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, Amari Cooper, Terry Glenn, and Larry Fitzgerald.

The 2019 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented the Biletnikoff Award trophy by TQC Foundation Chairman Steve Dobson, III, college and pro football hall of famer Fred Biletnikoff, and the dynamic and inspiring keynoter and college football hall of famer Lou Holtz before 550 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 15, 2020. The banquet was hailed by 2014 keynote speaker Dick Vermeil, as well as by 2013 keynoter Larry Csonka, as “the best banquet in college sports.”

The banquet has featured distinguished keynoters of profound character and accomplishments including the late Bart Starr, Dick Vermeil, Floyd Little, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, Ron Jaworski, Gene Stallings, Bob Griese, Bill Curry, Bobby Bowden, Jim Kelly, Jerry Kramer, Joe Theismann, Dan Fouts, and Aaron Taylor.

The TQC Foundation’s charitable mission is the provision of college and vocational scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extracurricular levels. Participation in sports is not a requirement. The Foundation has provided many millions of dollars for several hundreds of scholarships and related benefits through 2019.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 18, 2019, following the vote by the distinguished members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 25, 2019. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and timely, important news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, as well as a fan vote and discussion board, please consult the Foundation’s highly informative website at

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was a consensus All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The 2019 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List
(Other receivers will be added as their season performances dictate)

Lynn Bowden, Jr. Kentucky
Rico Bussey, Jr. North Texas
Cedric Byrd Hawaii
Grant Calcaterra Oklahoma
Damonte Coxie Memphis
Gabriel Davis UCF
Bryan Edwards South Carolina
D’Wayne Eskridge Western Michigan
Aaron Fuller Washington
Antonio Gandy-Golden Liberty
KJ Hamler Penn State
Adrian Hardy Louisiana Tech
Damon Hazelton Virginia Tech
Tee Higgins Clemson
K.J. Hill Ohio State
Isaiah Hodgins Oregon State
Justin Jefferson LSU
Jerry Jeudy Alabama
Tyler Johnson Minnesota
Collin Johnson Texas
CeeDee Lamb Oklahoma
Ty Lee Middle Tennessee
Kalija Lipscomb Vanderbilt
McLane Mannix Texas Tech
Kirk Merritt Arkansas State
Riley Miller Ball State
Denzel Mims Baylor
Darnell Mooney Tulane
Rondale Moore Purdue
Albert Okwuegbunam Missouri
K.J. Osborn Miami
Dezmon Patmon Washington State
Jared Pinkney Vanderbilt
Michael Pittman, Jr. USC
James Proche SMU
Jalen Reagor TCU
Jared Rice Fresno State
Sean Riley Syracuse
Reggie Roberson, Jr. SMU
Justyn Ross Clemson
Henry Ruggs III Alabama
Laviska Shenault, Jr. Colorado
JD Spielman Nebraska
Amon-Ra St. Brown USC
Marquez Stevenson Houston
Tamorrion Terry Florida State
Jaylen Waddle Alabama
Tylan Wallace Oklahoma State
JoJo Ward Hawaii
Quez Watkins Southern Miss
Print Friendly, PDF & Email