Biletnikoff Award adds 2 receivers to watch list

Media Release – November 6, 2014

Tallahassee, FL – The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. (TQC Foundation), the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, presented to college football’s outstanding receiver, added two receivers to its watch list today. Anyone who catches a pass, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, or running back) is eligible to win the Biletnikoff Award, founded in 1994.

The two receivers joining the 2014 Biletnikoff Award Watch List are:

John Harris, Sr., University of Texas
Pharoh Cooper, So., University of South Carolina

Today’s watch list additions are the fourth of this season, the prestigious award’s 21st year. The Foundation, when appropriate, periodically will add receivers to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List (based upon performance) up to the commencement of voting by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, comprised of 225 distinguished college football journalists and commentators, as well as former winners and eminent receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote.

In other exciting news, the Biletnikoff Award has opened its online Fan Vote for the Biletnikoff Award candidates on the Biletnikoff Award website. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award Fan Vote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semi-finalists (ten receivers), finalists (three), and the winner. Last year, in the closest contest in years, the Fan Vote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for 2013 winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State.

To access the Biletnikoff Award Fan Vote on, go to


Also, the Biletnikoff Award has an online forum and discussion board on the Biletnikoff Award website. The forum consists of fan-created discussion topics that allow sports fans to voice their opinions.

Click here to access the Biletnikoff Award Forum Discussion Boards. (


The Foundation’s charitable mission is the provision of college and vocational scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels. The Foundation awarded $900,000 in scholarships in 2014 alone and expects to increase that amount in 2015.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 11, 2014, by college and pro football hall of famer Fred Biletnikoff on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:00 to 9:00 pm on ESPN.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will receive the Biletnikoff Award Trophy, the most beautiful in college sports, before 600 patrons at the annual black-tie Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 7, 2015. The banquet will be live streamed on ESPN3, as it was in 2013 and 2014.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email